Hungry for Korean?

29 Aug

Bibim Guksu (from eatingandliving blog)

Last week, I was making bibim guksu when rudely interrupted by THE EARTHQUAKE! Those spicy cold Korean noodles make the earth shake.

I was so happy to find eating and living: a Korean-American mom’s home cooking. Since returning to the U.S. after living in Korea for two years, I sometimes get those unshakable specific food cravings. When I was in Korea, I missed fajitas and now I crave bibimbap! I miss my favorite dishes, but haven’t been able to find recipes of everything I like. Or I have, but the recipes have been complicated with many many hard-to-find ingredients and confusing instructions. I’ve had mixed results with other bloggers’ recipes.

Hyosun Ro does a great job presenting things clearly and simply. I love that her children inspired her to start this blog with their dinnertime phone calls home asking for instructions on how to make the Korean foods they missed. I couldn’t have been happier with how this cooking process went and I have Hyosun Ro to thank for it! My bibim guksu tasted great (even though its spiciness made my dinner companions gulp down the water!) and was cheap and easy to make. I can’t wait to try some of her other recipes!

4 Responses to “Hungry for Korean?”

  1. maxi August 30, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    oh god yes.. eatingandliving is soo key..

    i’ve made the kimchi chigae and the japchae from her site and they were so good i peed myself (that’s a thing right?)

  2. Sewon September 9, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Ohh yeah! I know her, and her kitchen is HUGE. I’m friends with her daughter, as well. It’s really cool she keeps a Korean food blog.

Leave a Reply

