Erykah Badu’s “Bag Lady”

18 Jul

“Bag Lady” is the last #1 single (R&B charts) of Motown records before they got gobbled up by Universal in 2005.

T_T (cry face)

I love this simplicity of this video! And the colors!

I originally liked this song because I thought it was funny (X_X), but it was 2000 and I hadn’t yet had time to accumulate much BAGGAGE, particularly romantic baggage, at the age of 14. Despite my original misunderstanding of the song, I think I get it now – the message is one of letting go of baggage, living your life without fear, and allowing yourself to open your heart and try be happy. It’s a really positive song! Yayyyyyyyy.

And Erykah Badu herself is pretty cool. I mean, if the hair makes the woman…! Her hair! (The polar opposite of my wimpy little stick straight strands.) Jealousssss.

Where was I when this controversy was happening??

Anyway, I will leave you with this Erykah tribute from non-ladymade (but still lovely) Andre Woolery Art:

Leave a Reply

